Liberty to Choose

the-boat-and-miss-liberty

PHOTO PROMPT- Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields

Despite the hell we went through, the overwhelming feeling I had was one of freedom.

The tension within the household evaporated; The children were no longer afraid of breathing in the wrong direction.

I wasn’t restricted to a particular brand of shower gel anymore.

Oh how long, I browsed the shelves!

I desired one due to its fragrance, another because of the promises on the bottle and yet another for its hue – how well it would look in my bathroom!

Simple selections taken for granted by most.  But I savoured the experience.

My choices to make, free from control.

 

Word Count: 100

Written for Friday Fictioneers – a 100 words story based on a photo prompt. Hosted by Rochelle. Read the other entries here.

 

38 thoughts on “Liberty to Choose

  1. mickwynn2013 says:

    This is a very powerful piece. The strength of important feelings and emotions depicted through simple and everyday items and requirements like simply breathing and the gel. Brilliantly executed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jwdwrites says:

    When I first read this I imagined that the family had fled life in a particularly controlling political regime. One of the things I love about these short pieces is that the or brevity necessitates a great deal of inference and interpretation so it is possible for two different readers to imagine a quite different scenario. Having read the comments I re-read the piece and my mental picture fell in line with the abusive partnership scenario described in the comments. I have sometimes read comments on stories I have written and realise the reader had envisioned a completely different story than the one I thought I had told! Nice story Clare. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Clare Hempstead says:

      Thanks very much. I sometimes find it difficult to show instead of tell and with the restriction on words don’t always convey what I want. I agree it is fascinating to see how different stories can be interpreted and also the different takes on the prompt! I appreciate your comment – thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. patriciaruthsusan says:

    There are sometimes things going on in the homes of others we know nothing about. I recently learned the father of one of my best friends was an alcoholic. The family hid it well. I would have never known if she hadn’t finally written about it. Your story brings out the problem with a simple consumer choice. Good writing, Clare. —- Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a comment. Constructive criticism welcome!

