Unattainable Destination

adamickes-boardwalk

PHOTO PROMPT – © Adam Ickes

The wind blew her long, curly hair and she tilted her face upwards, breathing in the fresh air.  She closed her eyes and listened to the sounds around her.  The birdsong represented a freedom she desperately yearned to attain for herself.

She had only an hour to indulge in the open air and determined to enjoy each nanosecond.  Raising her binoculars, she scanned the reeds for birds hoping to spy a warbler or a bunting.  Memories of her childhood spent bird-watching with her parents embraced her.

Never had she envisioned her future thus.  Her destination ever receding, her escape impossible.

Word Count: 100

Written for Friday Fictioneers – a 100 words story based on a photo prompt. Hosted by Rochelle. Read the other entries here.

27 thoughts on “Unattainable Destination

    • Clare Hempstead says:

      So sorry for the late response. It’s been a busy time! We could have been writing about the same person! I never read anyone else’s until after I have published mine. I think it’s more fun that way. I also worry that I might be influenced by something someone has written! I wonder if we are ‘great minds think alike’ or ‘fools seldom differ!’:)

      Liked by 1 person

      • spicedmullings says:

        Either is fine, for if we are fools there is room for growth!
        Btw, I always read everybody else’s only AFTER I have published my own!
        Besides, what I wrote was a little bit of my own experience!
        After about 17 years of dealing with family life (no regrets!), I was in Florida by myself. My hosts took me to Coco Beach there and this pic looks almist like a spot there! So…..

        Liked by 1 person

Please leave a comment. Constructive criticism welcome!

