Chasing The Dragon Under The Bridge

ceayr3

PHOTO PROMPT © C.E. Ayr

I know I’ll go. I wish I could resist, but know I can’t.

I glance at the clock, grab some notes from my purse. I head towards the door, then hesitate…

The urge is all-consuming. I race down and wait beneath the bridge trembling.

The silver Renault pulls up. Thank God he’s here.  The window slides down.

The exchange is quick, so quick most on-lookers wouldn’t notice it taking place.

Back in my flat, I prepare everything with trembling hands, sweating and anxious for the relief.

Again, I dither; Aaron would still be alive if only I had beaten this.

Word Count:100

Written for Friday Fictioneers – a 100 words story based on a photo prompt. Hosted by Rochelle. Read the other entries here.

36 thoughts on “Chasing The Dragon Under The Bridge

Please leave a comment. Constructive criticism welcome!

