My New Dawn

clouds-above-the-trees

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

The sunbeams dancing through my window-pane quietly rouse me.  I listen to a dustcart drawing nearer.  It’s early, but I’m keen to make a start.  I make myself a promise: I’ll not linger over previous unhappiness.  He had my past, but he’ll not affect my present or future… ever.

Today I’ll buy curtains to keep the early morning sun out.

I can do whatever I want.  I stretch languorously, the things I need to achieve today parading through my head.

No point lying in bed thinking about it, I get up and start living my life the way I want.

Word Count: 100

Written for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle. Read the other entries here.

 

 

60 thoughts on “My New Dawn

  1. neilmacdon says:

    Full of strength and new beginnings. I loved the touch of the dustcart – I heard it. “to impede my exposure to the early sunrise” is a bit clunky unless it was an odd and slightly fussy voice you were going for

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rowena says:

    I enjoyed this Clare and it got me thinking. I particularly related to: “the things I need to achieve today parading through my head.” That happens to me a lot. The to do list parades through and keeps going. Trying to get the list happening on paper instead but it’s hard to fight with the muse as well as the research which also draws me away.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    “He had my past, but he’ll not affect my present or future… ever.” I love this line, it sums up a breakup beautifully. Nice story filled with hope.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michael Wynn says:

    Very positive. Me, I like the sun coming in the morning but I’d want to keep the noise and smell of the dustcart out. 🙂 It’s life affirming that she recognises her life is hers now and she can do what she wants.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. goroyboy says:

    Well done although being from the States I had to google the meaning of “dustcart”. We have a curtain that the sun peaks through as to make sure we don’t sleep in:) Peace to you Clare

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a comment. Constructive criticism welcome!

