Unexpected Date Night

dale-rogerson-pizza

PHOTO PROMPT © Dale Rogerson

“Let’s have a date night,” my husband said.  “I’ll arrange everything; you come home and get ready for a treat.  Wear something sexy.”

I hid my surprise.  Things hadn’t been great for a while and he’d never organised anything special.

I spent time preparing, anticipating a romantic meal somewhere classy.  A squirt of expensive perfume and I was ready.  Excitedly, I went downstairs.

***

I surveyed the bedroom the morning after; the takeaway pizza stinking its greasy fumes and the dregs of the bargain booze in the bottom of the glass.

I fastened the suitcase and headed out.  I deserved so much more.

Word Count: 102

Written for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle. Read the other entries here.

50 thoughts on “Unexpected Date Night

Please leave a comment. Constructive criticism welcome!

