The Sadist

auto-aftermath

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Broken, abused, defeated!

That’s how I felt when we split.  He wasn’t content with being unfaithful like most husbands.  That wasn’t enough; he tried to destroy me.  He almost succeeded.

We shouldn’t have married.  I never loved him and he obviously reciprocated that absence of emotion.  I’d ricocheted from a failed relationship into his merciless life. How I wish I’d listened to those who dispensed warnings.  Instead I suffered years of cruelty bestowed by him.

How different my life could have been.

Thankfully, broken things can repair and my strength has returned.  I’m contented now.

Happiness is a gratifying revenge.

Word Count: 100

Written for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle. Read the other entries here.

42 thoughts on “The Sadist

Please leave a comment. Constructive criticism welcome!

